Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Me and My Control Issues

So, apparently, this blog has 2, count ‘em, 2 whole hits that weren’t me checking to see if I had any hits! This is fantastic news to me!

So today, I’m going to talk about my control issues, because I figure, hey, it’s a decent sized part of my personality, and it’s currently affecting my life, so why not get it all out on the internet.

Let me first start off by saying I do not have an authority problem. In fact anyone close to me will tell you that I may follow rules set down for me a little too carefully. Seriously, even my parents think I need to loosen up. I always follow the rules, ALWAYS.

So perhaps that is where some of my issues come from. I have no problems following the rules, so I’m constantly faced with the question, why can’t everyone else? I mean seriously, thus far I have managed to lead a completely fulfilling life without sticking a toe over the line, so why do some people have such a huge problem with authority that they cannot manage to follow even the most basic instructions if they come from a position of authority.

As much as rule breakers irk me, I can generally live with it. I accept the fact that we live in a society which makes it okay for people to ditch the occasional regulation. I don’t have to like it, but I can live with it.

My real problem is when people tell me what I’m going to do instead of asking me. And again, I don’t mean people in authority, I mean people my own age.

For example, for some reason when I’m going to the dining hall, if a friend texts me what time we’re going, I get annoyed if it’s not phrased like a question. For example “Hey dinner @ 6.” vs.  “Food at 6?” See, there’s not really a huge difference here, just a question mark. A simple question mark makes me feel soooooo much better.

The dinner thing is a minor annoyance, it’s stupid, and could just be chalked up to me being a little bit of a control freak when it comes to my meal times. The real problem comes when people make plans for me without asking me first, and the anger increases based on how much of my time they’re planning on taking up. For example telling me I have to be somewhere for an hour is mildly irritating, telling me what I’m going to be doing all day, just pisses me off and causes me to blog while angry, which is never a good thing.

So hypothetically speaking, let’s say my friend was going to have a birthday but I had to unexpectedly go out of town at the last minute and missed it. Let’s also say that I specifically told the friend to go on with the celebrations without me. Now let’s say she didn’t, and has informed me that I will be celebrating her birthday this weekend.  Not asked, informed. And not just, ‘Hey we’re gonna have cake on Sunday,’ but ‘Hey, you’re going to do whatever I want on Sunday, because you missed my birthday.’

 Now, I know that in the grand scheme of things this really isn’t a big deal. And I do feel bad about going away for her birthday, and honestly I have no problems hanging out or whatever for a couple of hours to celebrate my friend’s birthday. My problem is the way it was presented to me. And now I have to figure out a way to balance my natural tendency to suddenly remember homework or something and be busy all day and night with manners and knowing that I should go hang for a while.

Ultimately I know I’ll end up going over there for cake and to celebrate my gal pals b-day, but I won’t be able to reconcile the fact that she told me what to do, and I’ll end up doing something else during the day.

~Katie

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

OH MY GOD IT'S FREAKING HOT

So today's post will be about the extreme heat that has made it's way into my life.

I am hot.

Like really really hot.

Like surface of the sun hot.

See, I thought I chose to go to a school that was cold and windy. Last year it was very very cold and very very windy. The locals told me it was a warm fall then. Now I want to know what on earth they call this insanity.

The main problem with the heat is that because of my schools undisclosed location, none of the buildings were made to function in heat. My room is a legit 95 degrees. There is no AC, and all I have to cool myself down is a very small fan that clips onto my desk.

This is not the worst of the problem though, I have dealt with heat before, and I will deal with it again. The big problem is that no one can talk about anything but the heat.

This is how my last hundred conversations have gone:

Me: Hey what's up?

Other Person: It's f***ing hot.

Me: Yeah, tell me about it. So how was your summer?

OP: It was good, I miss the AC at home.

Me: AC is amazing, I miss it too. How do your professors seem so far?

OP: Cool, I have this one crazy guy who thinks Kennedy is still alive, so that's fun... but his class is in the campus center, so it's like a freaking oven in there.

Me: Yeah...

It is then that I usually choose to walk away with some awkward excuse about class, or meeting someone, or dental surgery.

The thing is I think that if everyone would stop talking about the heat it wouldn't seem as awful. Like every time I get used to dealing with it someone brings it up and I'm reminded of the crappy circumstances I have been placed in yet again.

So I guess this post can be summed up like this : It's hot, I know it's hot, there is nothing I can do about the heat, so quit telling me about it.

That is all.

~Katie

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Post the Second

Clearly I am very adept at coming up with clever and intriguing names for my blog posts. Aren't you all just so curious to know what could have inspired the awesomeness that is post the second? And by "you all" I am of course referring to the anthropologists of the future who are reading this in an attempt to better understand the homo sapien race in the 21st century. Sorry for the dull read guys.

So as I'm trying to figure out what on earth this blog is going to be about, I've settled on a topic for today, and it is..... FASHION!

Now don't get too excited/repulsed, I'm not talking about the big names out there, I will not be discussing D&G or Gucci. I'm talking about the fun and fabulous world of COLLEGE FASHION!

That's right, the exciting wardrobe of college students everywhere. See, today I finished up my shopping for back to school clothing. The thing is, I've found that there are only so many different types of clothing a college student ever wears, no matter how well stocked their wardrobe.

THE STAPLES

Every college student has at least one of each of these, although hopefully they have more as these pieces are worn 90% of the time while on campus.

THE SCHOOL HOODIE

This is really the most perfect thing ever as it performs multiple functions. Not only does it keep the wearer warm, but it conveys the type of "school spirit" the administration loves to see in its co-eds. The hoodie must be at least one size to big, so as to constantly make it look as though you are hiding something. What's in there? Spare notebooks? Gold bars? The freshmen 15? The hoodie is of course acceptable wear to any and all school functions, including pool related activities.

SWEATPANTS

It's a sweatshirt for your legs! And they allow you to get an extra 15 minutes of sleep in the morning! What's not to love? In fact you can wear them to class, go back to your dorm and take a nap, wake up and grab dinner, study, and go to bed all without having to change outfits! Although there is a warning to be related here, them power is strong in these pants, and they may cause you to fall asleep at random times of day regardless of your location.

T-SHIRTS

Now hold your horses, I'm not talking about 30 dollar American Eagle tees here, I'm talking hardcore had them since freshman year of high school, and worn them into a ratty mess tees. These shirts fit like a glove and I mean the literally, in that you've worn them so often that they have conformed to the shape of your body and will not be moved by man nor washing machine.

JEANS

For when you want to try a little bit harder.

FLANNEL PJ BOTTOMS

See Sweatpants.

OTHER RANDOM GARMENTS

Of course there is that other 10% of the time to worry about...

"GOOD" SHIRTS

These are for when the parents come to visit. You pull them out specifically to show mom and dad that you're becoming an upstanding citizen instead of just a keg-standing citizen. Also occasionally on laundry day, when you're out of old T-Shirts.

FORMAL ATTIRE

Every college student has something that can be dressy in the very unlikely occasion that they will need something dressy. I personally bring a black dress of conservative length that works for everything from funerals to fancy restaurants solely based on the fear that one day I will need to be dressed up and have nothing to wear.

ACCESSORIES

Devotion to these last about a week before everyone decides that they are far too much effort and they are relegated to a box that you will only remember once you are packing it all up in May.

Well, that about does it for college clothing. I'm hard pressed to come up with anything I bring to school that doesn't fit into one of these cattegories.

Well, till next time!

Saturday, August 21, 2010

The First Post

Helllllloooooo Internet,

How ya doin'?

So, as hobbies go, blogging is somewhat far down on the list of possibilities I ever thought I'd do for fun. It falls some where between skydiving with a parachute made entirely of fruit roll-ups, and reading quietly in the comfort of my dorm room with a mug of hot chocolate on a cold winter evening. But as the fates would have it I seem to be in the mood to write something tonight, and I've just been reading some really funny blog posts, and so here we are.

I feel like I should post some information about myself, but there's a paranoid voice in the back of my head telling me that if I say anything about myself, you'll all be able to find me and consequently go all Zodiac killer on my ass, and so I shall refrain. All you need to know is that I'm a female college student who likes to write in her spare time, which is usually rare and waaaaaaaay past the point I should have chosen to go to bed.

I predict that this blog will go the way of my other internet pursuits, such as my twitter and fiction page, I will write on it insanely for apx. 1 week to 1 month. There will be no interest outside of my immeadiate family and I will forget about this website in it's entirety until one day a very bored and desperate human being will stumble across my page and leave some kind of coment that will be something along the lines of "you suck" which will compel me to prove to myself and the universe at large that I do NOT suck, and I will blog like a maniac for the next week or so until I am destracted by something shiny.

Well, I have no idea what to write now.

So Bye!